Friday, November 4, 2011
UNM Student Union Building Ballroom
6:00 PM - Reception
7:00 PM - Dinner & Awards Presentation

2011 Honorees:
Catherine Goldberg (Class of 1975)
Peter Mallery (Class of 1968)
Professor Emeritus and former Dean Leo M. Romero

Presenting Sponsor

Ticket Price
$100 per person
$1000 Table sponsor
Includes 1 table of 10

For more information, contact Melissa Lobato at (505) 277-1457 or

Distinguished Achievement AwardsIn 1993, University of New Mexico School of Law Alumni/ae board members began a tradition of honoring people who have served the legal community in a significant way at an annual dinner and awards ceremony. The purpose of the Distinguished Achievement Awards Dinner is to celebrate notable accomplishments and dedicated service by lawyers and others in the legal community to the UNM School of Law, the New Mexico legal community and the greater community inside and outside of New Mexico.

Distinguished Achievement AwardsSince the dinner started, 51 honorees, more than 6,000 attendees and more than 100 different sponsors have participated in the event. The dinner has raised nearly $300,000 for law school programming, including the Alumni Association Board scholarships, the Law School's only merit-based full-tuition scholarships presented to incoming law students.

The goal of the annual Distinguished Achievement Awards Dinner is to raise awareness of the long-term accomplishments and service to the law school and legal community by outstanding people. The dinner also provides a venue for members of the greater law school community at which to gather and celebrate these achievements and to raise money for valuable projects on behalf of the law school.

Since 1993, the School of Law Alumni/ae Association has sponsored 16 dinners with the following awardees:    

1993 – Paul Robinson (`50)
Honorable Santiago Campos (`53)
Ruth C. Streeter (`53)

1994 -  Franklin Jones (`56)
Professor Henry Weihofen
Honorable Mary C. Walters (`62)
Haskell Rosebrough (`51)

1995 -  Honorable Dan Sosa, Jr. (`51)
John D. Robb, Jr.
William E. Bondurant, Jr.
Raymond W. Schowers (`73) (posthumously)

1996 - Professor Albert Utton
Felix Briones (`57)

1997  - Honorable E. L. Mechem
Honorable Joe Wood (`50)
D. Russell Moore (`57)

1998 - Gene Gallegos (`60)
Honorable Richard Ransom
U.S. Representative Steve Schiff (`72) (posthumously)

1999 - Honorable Howard Bratton
Kevin Gover (`81)
Professor Fred Hart

2000 – Sarah Bradley (`72)
Arturo Jaramillo
William Snead (`61)

2001 – John R. Cooney (`65)
Raymond G. Sanchez (`67)
Anne B. Thomas (`83)

2003 -  Professor Robert J. Desiderio
Nancy Hollander (`78)
Luis G. Stelzner

2004 – Ranne D. Miller (`67)
Maureen A. Sanders (`79)
Associate Dean Peter A. Winograd

2005 – Richard L. Gerding (`64)
Honorable Tommy E. Jewell (`79)
Professor Ruth L. Kovnat

2006 – Arthur O. Beach (`70)
Pat R. Bryan, III (`74)
John E. Echohawk (`70)
Toby Grossman (`68) (posthumously)

2007 – Professor Michael B. Browde
Randi M. McGinn (`80)
Andrew G. Schultz (`84)
Walter K. Martinez (`55) (posthumously)

2008 - William H. Carpenter (`66)
Honorable Pamela B. Minzner (posthumously)
Gary O. O`Dowd (`65)

2009 – Professor William T. McPherson, Jr. (`66)
Paula Tackett (`77)
U.S. Senator Tom Udall (`77)