UNM Mock Trial Team Brings Home Trophy

Mock Trial WinnersThe UNM School of Law's National Mock Trial team took home the second-place trophy in the final rounds of the national competition held in late March.

The team of Stephen Lane, Heather Massoth and Robert Sanchez became the first UNM School of Law team to make it to the championship round of the National Mock Trial Competition. The team defeated Faulkner University law school in the semi-final round in Austin before losing in the finals to returning champions Chicago Kent University law school.

The UNM team of Heather Jaramillo, Athena Spencer and Nate Cobb narrowly missed advancing to the quarterfinal round, after facing extremely tough competition in the preliminary rounds. Both teams were coached by Steve Scholl (`89) and Brent Bailey.

More than 150 law schools participated in the competition, fielding more than 300 teams. From regional competitions held across the country, including one in Albuquerque, 28 teams advanced to the final rounds, including both UNM teams.

Both teams were feted at a reception at the UNM School of Law.