New Members Inducted into Roehl Circle of Honor

Roehl Circle
Paul Bardacke, left, and John Cooney (`65) at their induction ceremony. Photo by Dorma Seago

John Cooney (`65), of Modrall, Sperling, Roehl, Harris & Sisk, along with Paul Bardacke, was inducted into the esteemed Roehl Circle of Honor for Trial Lawyers during a Nov. 14 ceremony at the New Mexico State Bar Center.

Cooney has practiced for more than 47 years in the areas of natural resources law, antitrust law, class action defense, eminent domain and other areas of complex commercial litigation and arbitration. He is a certified specialist in Natural Resources Law – Oil and Gas.

Cooney is a former president of the State Bar of New Mexico and served as president of the Modrall Sperling law firm from 1993-2000. He is a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers. Best Lawyers in America has recognized Cooney for 20 years and named him Bet-the-Company Lawyer of the Year in Albuquerque for 2012.

He received the University of New Mexico School of Law’s Distinguished Achievement Award in 2001.

Bardacke has practiced for more than 40 years in the public and private sectors. His current practice at Sutin, Thayer & Browne centers on mediation and arbitration. In the past 20 years, he has mediated more than 1,000 cases. He has tried more than 25 jury trials, including commercial law, natural resources, and criminal defense and prosecution.

Bardacke served as the state’s attorney general from 1983-1986, as special U.S. attorney for the District of New Mexico from 1984-1985 and has been the chief negotiator for New Mexico in Indian gaming negotiations.

The Roehl Circle honor was established in 1995 by Jerrald J. Roehl in memory of his father, Joseph. The elder Roehl was a prominent trial lawyer in New Mexico and longtime managing partner of the Modrall Sperling firm. Roehl Circle honorees are chosen by the Circle committee and previous inductees. Since the inaugural annual ceremony, 44 lawyers have been inducted, including this year's honorees.

Previous inductees are: Jackson Akin, Frank Allen, Harry Bigbee, Bill Carpenter (`66), Richard Civerolo (`50), Stephen Durkovich (`67), Justice Gene Franchici, Gene Gallegos (`60), Richard Gerding (`64), Bruce Hall, Ken Harrigan, George Harris, Harold Hensley, Bryan Johnson, Russell Jones, Henry Kiker, Bill Kitts, Ross Malone, Bill Marchiondo (`52), Don McCormick, Randi McGinn (`80), Ranne Miller (`67), Seth Montgomery, Russell Moore (`57), J.W. Neal, Melvin Neal, Arturo Ortega, Judge James Parker, Richard Ransom, James Ritchie (`52), John Robb, Leland Sedberry, Gill Shaffer, Stuart Shanor, John F. Simms, William Sloan, Joseph Smith, Bill Snead (`61), Lowell Stout, Norman Thayer (`60), James Toulouse and Matias Zamora.

December 7, 2012