J.D. Program Tuition, Fees, & Estimated Costs
Investing in a graduate degree is both a personal and a financial commitment. Our Law School is garnering incredible rankings and enthusiastic high marks from current students, graduates and employers. Why would you pay $100,000 or more in tuition when you could pay less and get everything you're looking for?
The Admissions and Financial Aid staff here at UNM School of Law are here to help you find ways to make your education affordable. For detailed information on funding opportunities, please visit our Financial Aid and Scholarships webpage.
2021-2022 Academic Year
|Full-time Tuition Per Semester (12-18 credits)||Full-time Tuition Per Academic Year (Fall/ Spring) (12-18 credits)|
Tuition Per Credit Hour (1-11 Credit Hours - Flex-time Status Students Only)
Additional Required Fees
|Fall and Spring Semester||Summer Semester|
|Curricular Fee 1||$250.00 per semester||$175.00*|
|Graduate & Professional School Association Fees||$25.00 per semester|
|LAW Comp Dup Fee||$250.00 per semester||$175.00|
|IT Technology Fee 2||$150.00 per semester||$20.00|
|SHAC Fee||$107.00 per semester||$20.00|
|Athletics Fee||$100.00 per semester||$67.00|
1. All Law Students are charged a Curricular Fee each semester to cover costs including but not limited to Westlaw, Lexis, and CALI password; Extegrity Exam4 licenses; student copying and printing quotas; classroom, courtroom, clinic, computer lab, student organization offices and journal suite IT equipment including computers, monitors and software licenses; and emails and media servers, media center equipment and staff support.
* Summer Semester curricular fees are assessed for students enrolled in six (6) or more credits during the summer term.
2. $50 assessed to all students
For additional information on tuition and fee rates please visit the UNM Bursars Office. For additional information on mandatory student fees, course fees, and curricular fees please visit UNM Policy 1310 for information on Mandatory Student Fees, and UNM Policy 8210.3.2 for information on Course Fees and Curricular Fees.
Cost of Living Expenses
2021-2022 Estimated Cost of Living in addition to Tuition and Required Fees Independent Student living Off-Campus
|Academic Year||One Semester|
|Room and Board||$10,396.00||$5,198.00|
|Books and Supplies||$1,194.00||$597.00|
* This amount is in addition to tuition and required University and Law School fees.
Tuition is approved by the UNM Board of Regents each April for the upcoming academic year.
New Mexico attorneys are not required to carry malpractice insurance. The School of Law Clinic, however, believes it is a fundamental professional responsibility to protect clients from potential harm which may be caused by our negligence. The Clinic negotiates a new malpractice insurance premium each year, buying the most coverage for the most reasonable rate. All students enrolled in Clinical courses are required to pay an equitable share of the cost of malpractice insurance. This fee is approximately $120. Students are informed of the actual rate no later than the first day of Clinic classes and pay their fee to the School of Law no later than the second Friday of the semester in which the student is enrolled.
Group Health & Accident Insurance
We encourage students to go out onto the Exchange (if they have a qualifying event) and purchase insurance. Please visit www.healthcare.gov to see the options available. If you are a resident of New Mexico you may qualify for a Centennial plan, which is the new Medicaid. Student Health and Counseling (SHAC) has health care guides that can help students enroll in the Centennial plan. Please call 277-8000 or 277-7943 to schedule an appointment.
Students may seek health services on campus through the Student Health and Counseling Center (SHAC) which is available to all UNM students. Services include primary medical care, walk-in clinic, pharmacy, women’s and men’s health, allergy and immunization, medical specialty clinics, physical therapy, lab and X-ray, travel health clinic, counseling, health education and prevention.
- It is the student’s responsibility to officially drop or withdraw from UNM by the published deadline dates to insure proper credit of tuition and fees are received.
- A course is not dropped by not attending. The exact dates for the current semester are available in the "Tuition & Fees" section on the Bursar’s website.
- They are also available on the website of the Office of the Registrar, under the link, "Deadline Dates."
- In general, deadline dates are as follows, excluding College of Nursing and Medical School:
- 4-week courses...the first Friday following the first day of class
- 8-week courses...the second Friday following the first day of class
- 12-week courses...the second Friday following the first day of class
- 16-week courses...the third Friday of the semester
For further information students should contact the School of Law Registrar Ernest Tafoya.