Skip to main content

Close Community

Professors value one-on-one contact with students outside the classroom and are dedicated to turning incoming students into graduates who are equipped with the skills and ethical standards necessary to practice law and to contribute to the greater community.

Our Faculty

The UNM law faculty has been educated at the nation's most distinguished law schools and has practiced and taught throughout the country, bringing to UNM a healthy diversity of backgrounds, professional interests and outlooks on legal education.

A| B| C| D| E| F| G| H| I| J| K| L| M| N| O| P| Q| R| S| T| U| V| W| X| Y| Z
Maryam Ahranjani

Maryam Ahranjani

Associate Professor
Don L. & Mabel F. Dickason Professor

View Profile
Email: maryam.ahranjani@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-2113
Office: 3238

George Bach

George Bach

Associate Professor of Law
Lee & Leon Karelitz Professor in Evidence and Procedure

View Profile
Email: bach@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-1094
Office: 3116

Reed Benson

Reed Benson

Professor of Law
Don L. & Mabel F. Dickason Endowed Chair in Law

View Profile
Email: benson@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-1119
Office: 3237

Barbara Blumenfeld

Barbara Blumenfeld

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: blumenfeld@law.unm.edu

Michael Browde

Michael Browde

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: browde@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-5326
Office: 1117

Sherri Burr

Sherri Burr

Dickason Chair in Law
Regents Professor
Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: burr@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-5650
Office: 3243

Camille Carey

Camille Carey

Vice Dean
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor of Law
Karelitz Chair in Evidence and Procedure

View Profile
Email: carey@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-0078
Office: 2528

Barbara Creel

Barbara Creel

Professor of Law
Director, Southwest Indian Law Clinic
Henry Weihofen Professorship

View Profile
Email: creel@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-0907
Office: 3401

Robert J. Desiderio

Robert J. Desiderio

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: desiderio@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-0557
Office: 3245

Elizabeth Elia

Elizabeth Elia

Assistant Professor

View Profile
Email: elia@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-0677
Office: 1123

James W. Ellis

James W. Ellis

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: ellis@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-4830
Office: 3216

Scott England

Scott England

Principal Lecturer
Regents' Lecturer

View Profile
Email: england@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-2646
Office: 3115

Paul Figueroa

Paul Figueroa

Assistant Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: Paul.Figueroa@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-3304
Office: 1113

Denise Fort

Denise Fort

Emeritus Professor of Law
Research Professor

View Profile
Email: fortde@law.unm.edu

Christian Fritz

Christian Fritz

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: fritz@law.unm.edu

Eileen Gauna

Eileen Gauna

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: gauna@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-0377
Office: Emeriti Suite Rm. 3226

Sonia M. Gipson Rankin

Sonia M. Gipson Rankin

Assistant Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: sonia.rankin@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-1266
Office: 3213

Photo of Veronica Gonzales-Zamora

Veronica C. Gonzales-Zamora

Assistant Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: gonzalesv@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-1782
Office: 3123

Marc-Tizoc Gonzalez

Marc-Tizoc Gonzalez

Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: gonzalezm@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-8662
Office: 3411

Vinay Harpalani

Vinay Harpalani

Associate Professor

View Profile
Email: harpalani@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-5653
Office: 2526

Frederick Hart

Frederick Hart

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: hart@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-4737
Office: 3124

Steven K. Homer

Steven K. Homer

Director of the Legal Analysis & Communication Program
Principal Lecturer

View Profile
Email: homer@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-1002
Office: 1115

Scott Hughes

Scott Hughes

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: hughes@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-3051
Office: 3251

John Min Kang

John Min Kang

Professor of Law

Email: kang@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505 277-7776
Office: 1125

Joshua Kastenberg

Joshua Kastenberg

Associate Professor of Law
Lee & Leon Karelitz Professor in Evidence and Procedure

Email: joshua.kastenberg@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-5877
Office: 3214

Ruth Kovnat

Ruth Kovnat

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: kovnat@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-5326
Office: 1117

April Land

April Land

Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: land@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-1006
Office: 2534

John P. LaVelle

John P. LaVelle

Professor of Law
Regents Lectureship

View Profile
Email: lavelle@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-0951
Office: 3234

Nathalie Martin

Nathalie Martin

Associate Dean for Faculty Development
Professor of Law
Frederick M. Hart Chair in Consumer and Clinical Law

View Profile
Email: martin@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-2810
Office: 3239

Serge Martinez

Serge Martinez

Associate Professor of Law
Associate Dean of Experiential Learning

View Profile
Email: serge.martinez@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-6556
Office: 3409

Alfred Mathewson

Alfred Mathewson

Emeritus Professor of Law 
Henry Weihofen Chair in Law

View Profile
Email: mathewson@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-5820 
Office: 3246

Margaret Montoya

Margaret Montoya

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: montoya@law.unm.edu

Jennifer Moore

Jennifer Moore

Professor of Law
Pamela B. Minzner Chair in Professionalism

View Profile
Email: moore@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-5564
Office: 3112

J. Michael Norwood

J. Michael Norwood

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: norwood@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-0377
Office: 3226

Ted Occhialino

Ted Occhialino

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: occhialino@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-3017
Office: 3122

Aliza Organick

Aliza Organick

Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: organick@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-4140
Office: 3417

Gabriel Pacyniak

Gabriel Pacyniak

Assistant Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: pacyniak@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-6559
Office: 3413

Mary L Pareja

Mary Leto Pareja

Associate Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: mpareja@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-2268
Office: 3120

Sergio Pareja

Sergio Pareja

Dean and Professor of Law
Henry Weihofen Chair

View Profile
Email: pareja@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-4700
Office: 2505

Ted Parnall

Ted Parnall

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: parnall@law.unm.edu
Phone:
Office:

Elizabeth Rapaport

Elizabeth Rapaport

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: rapaport@law.unm.edu

Leo M. Romero

Leo M. Romero

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: romero@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-8817
Office: 3121

Joseph Schremmer

Joseph Schremmer

Assistant Professor of Law
Leon Karelitz Oil & Gas Law Professor

View Profile
Email: schremmer@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-5665
Office: 2532

Robert Schwartz

Robert Schwartz

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: schwartz@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-3119
Office: 3215

Laura Spitz

Laura Spitz

Associate Professor

View Profile
Email: laura.spitz@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-1772
Office: 3216

Sarah Steadman

Sarah Steadman

Assistant Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: steadman@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-0301
Office: 3415

David Stout

David Stout

Senior Lecturer III

View Profile
Email: stout@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-0080
Office: 1127

Carol M. Suzuki

Carol M. Suzuki

Professor of Law
Dickason Professorship

View Profile
Email: suzuki@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-1073
Office: 2530

Gloria Valencia-Weber

Gloria Valencia-Weber

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: valenciaweber@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-4101
Office: 3253

Cillford Villa

Clifford Villa

Associate Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: villa@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-5664
Office: 3235

Peter A. Winograd

Peter A. Winograd

Emeritus Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: winograd@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-3948
Office: 3242

Jeanette Wolfley

Jeanette Wolfley

Professor of Law

View Profile
Email: wolfley@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-3010
Office: 3114

Christine Zuni Cruz

Christine Zuni Cruz

Professor of Law
Regents Professor

View Profile
Email: zunicruz@law.unm.edu
Phone: 505-277-5265
Office: 3241

Inactive Emeriti

  • Marsha Baum
  • Barbara Bergman
  • Charles T. Dumars
  • Willis H. Ellis
  • Myron Fink
  • Richard Gonzales
  • G. Emlen Hall
  • Michelle S.G. Hermann
  • Antoinette Sedillo Lopez
  • William MacPherson
  • Jose Martinez
  • Carol Parker
  • Sheryl Scheible Wolf