Friday, October, 21, 2022
6:00 PM Reception
7:00 PM Dinner & Awards Presentation
UNM Student Union Building

Distinguished Achievement Award

Awarded to an alumnus/a, faculty member or member of the legal community who fits the following criteria:
  1. UNM School of Law graduate or substantial connection or contribution (professor, adjunct professor, etc.) to the law school
  2. Distinguished career, legal or otherwise (i.e. private practice, government practice, judiciary, business, etc.)
  3. Well-known and respected in New Mexico and possibly elsewhere
  4. Many years dedicated to a legal or other career
  5. Other community involvement (i.e. government service, charitable involvement, etc.)

Alumni Promise Award

Awarded to an alumnus/a whose service to the UNM School of Law community embodies the UNMSOL Alumni Association’s vision of Honoring the Past | Building the Future, and who fits the following criteria:

  1. Graduated from the Law School within the last ten years; and
  2. Has contributed innovative or substantial service to the Law School, its students, or its community."
Deadline for Nominations is Friday, March 11

Submit Nominations for 2022 Awards

Give to the Law Alumni Fund

Watch the 2021 honorees' and special tribute to Dean Fred Hart videos

Your Impact

Taylor Watrous Lueras, Class of 2012

The Alumni Merit Scholarship was extremely important to me. It was a factor in my decision to stay in New Mexico, attend law school here, and become a New Mexico lawyer. As a recipient of the scholarship, I realized that I had the support of the entire legal community of New Mexico, and it motivated me to work even harder in law school. The Scholarship afforded me so many important opportunities, and I am thrilled to be able to give back to New Mexico and the UNM School of Law as an alumna.

Taylor Watrous Lueras Class of 2012
Noell Sauer, 3rd Year Student

The Law Alumni/ae Association full-tuition scholarship is life changing in so many ways. For me I think it is particularly humbling and motivating to know that there are people out there who support my goals, so much so that they are willing to finance my legal education. This scholarship removes a significant burden off of me as a student and allows me to focus my time and energy on becoming the best lawyer I can be. The confidence this scholarship inspires is truly incredible and I could not be more grateful for the support.

Noell Sauer Class of 2018
Emma O'Sullivan, 3rd Year Law Student

When I applied to law school, I never thought that I would get in, let alone receive a scholarship. Besides giving me and my family the financial support I needed to be able to attend law school, the Scholarship gave me the important message that I was "law school material," and really deserved to be here. Attending UNM School of Law has changed my life and given me amazing opportunities, and I'm really excited about the directions my career path is already taking. Words are inadequate to describe the feeling of gratitude I have that the Alumni Board decided to take a chance on me, and gave me the opportunity to become a part of this community.

Emma O'Sullivan Class of 2016


In 1993, University of New Mexico School of Law Alumni/ae board members began a tradition of honoring people who have served the legal community in a significant way at an annual dinner and awards ceremony. The purpose of the Distinguished Achievement Awards Dinner is to celebrate notable accomplishments and dedicated service by lawyers and others in the legal community to the UNM School of Law, the New Mexico legal community and the greater community inside and outside of New Mexico.

Since the dinner started, 72 honorees, more than 7,000 attendees and hundreds of sponsors have participated in the event. The dinner has raised over $500,000 for law school programming, including the Alumni Association scholarships, the Law School's only merit-based full-tuition scholarships presented to incoming law students.

Thank you for helping us honor members of the law school and legal community, and for helping us support our alma mater.

Past Awardees

Paul Robinson (`50)
Honorable Santiago Campos (`53)
Ruth C. Streeter (`53)

Franklin Jones (`56)
Professor Henry Weihofen
Honorable Mary C. Walters (`62)
Haskell Rosebrough (`51)

Honorable Dan Sosa, Jr. (`51)
John D. Robb, Jr.
William E. Bondurant, Jr.
Raymond W. Schowers (`73) (posthumously)

Professor Albert Utton
Felix Briones (`57)

Honorable E. L. Mechem
Honorable Joe Wood (`50)
D. Russell Moore (`57)

Gene Gallegos (`60)
Honorable Richard Ransom
U.S. Representative Steve Schiff (`72) (posthumously)

Honorable Howard Bratton
Kevin Gover (`81)
Professor Fred Hart

Sarah Bradley (`72)
Arturo Jaramillo
William Snead (`61)

John R. Cooney (`65)
Raymond G. Sanchez (`67)
Anne B. Thomas (`83)

Professor Robert J. Desiderio
Nancy Hollander (`78)
Luis G. Stelzner

Ranne D. Miller (`67)
Maureen A. Sanders (`79)
Associate Dean Peter A. Winograd

Richard L. Gerding (`64)
Honorable Tommy E. Jewell (`79)
Professor Ruth L. Kovnat

Arthur O. Beach (`70)
Pat R. Bryan, III (`74)
John E. Echohawk (`70)
Toby Grossman (`68) (posthumously)

Professor Michael B. Browde
Randi M. McGinn (`80)
Andrew G. Schultz (`84)
Walter K. Martinez (`55) (posthumously)

William H. Carpenter (`66)
Honorable Pamela B. Minzner (posthumously)
Gary O. O`Dowd (`65)

Professor William T. McPherson, Jr. (`66)
Paula Tackett (`77)
U.S. Senator Tom Udall (`77)

Catherine Goldberg ('75)
Peter Mallery ('68)
Professor Emeritus and former Dean Leo M. Romero

Professor Anne Bingaman
Richard Civerolo (`50)
Professor and former Dean Ted Parnall (`67, January)
Wendy York (`82)

Peter Johnstone ('74) (posthumous award)
Ted Occhialino, Professor Emeritus
Patricia Madrid ('73)
Norman Thayer, ('60)

William Marchiondo ('52)
Edward Ricco ('80)
Jacquelyn Robins ('74)
Joan Hart, Lifetime Service Award

The Hon. Elizabeth Whitefield ('77)
Prof. Emeritus Richard Gonzales
Briggs Cheney ('73)

The Hon. Lorenzo F. Garcia ('73)
Joseph Goldberg
Tim Sheehan

Professor Barbara E. Bergman
The Hon. Michael D. Bustamante ('74)
Professor James W. Ellis
Shammara H. Henderson ('07) (Alumni Promise Award)

Aja N. Brooks ('08) (Alumni Promise Award)
Justice Edward L. Chavez (Ret.) ('81)
Jill L. Marron ('84)
Steve Scholl ('89)

The Hon. M. Christina Armijo ('75)
Justice Charles W. Daniels ('69)
Regent & Professor Emeritus
Robert Schwartz
Kelly Stout Sanchez ('09) (Alumni Promise Award)

DAAD Committee Members

Robert Lucero ('08), Chair
Samantha Adams ('03)
Morris Chavez ('98)
Barbara Shapiro ('78)
Andy Schultz ('84)

Agnes Fuentevilla Padilla ('92)
Justin Goodman ('11)
Bradford Zeikus ('66)
Adolph Sutton ('86)

Quiana Salazar-King ('13)
David Martinez ('82)
Shammara Henderson ('07)
Bert Parnall ('97)