Skip to main content

Close Community

Professors value one-on-one contact with students outside the classroom and are dedicated to turning incoming students into graduates who are equipped with the skills and ethical standards necessary to practice law and to contribute to the greater community.

Our Faculty

The UNM law faculty has been educated at the nation's most distinguished law schools and has practiced and taught throughout the country, bringing to UNM a healthy diversity of backgrounds, professional interests and outlooks on legal education.

Full-time Faculty

Photo: Maryam Ahranjani

Maryam Ahranjani

Associate Professor of Law

  • Don L. & Mabel F. Dickason Professor

505-277-2113
maryam.ahranjani@law.unm.edu
Office: 3238

Photo: George Bach

George Bach

Professor of Law

  • Lee & Leon Karelitz Professor in Evidence and Procedure

505-277-1094
bach@law.unm.edu
Office: 3116

Photo: Reed Benson

Reed Benson

Professor of Law

  • Don L. & Mabel F. Dickason Endowed Chair in Law

505-277-1119
benson@law.unm.edu
Office: 3237

Photo: Camille Carey

Camille Carey

Vice Dean
Professor of Law

  • Karelitz Chair in Evidence and Procedure

505-277-0078
carey@law.unm.edu
Office: 2528

Photo: Barbara Creel

Barbara Creel

Director, Southwest Indian Law Clinic
Professor of Law

  • Henry Weihofen Professorship

505-277-0907
creel@law.unm.edu
Office: 3401

Photo: Elizabeth Elia

Elizabeth Elia

Assistant Professor of Law

505-277-0677
elia@law.unm.edu
Office: 1123

Photo: Scott England

Scott England

Principal Lecturer

  • Regents' Lecturer

505-277-2646
scott.england@law.unm.edu
Office: 3115

Photo: Paul Figueroa

Paul Figueroa

Assistant Professor of Law

505-277-3304
Paul.Figueroa@law.unm.edu
Office: 1113

Photo: Sonia M.  Gipson Rankin

Sonia M.  Gipson Rankin

Associate Professor of Law

505-277-1266
sonia.rankin@law.unm.edu
Office: 3213

Photo: Verónica C.  Gonzales-Zamora

Verónica C.  Gonzales-Zamora

Assistant Professor of Law

505-277-1782
gonzalesv@law.unm.edu
Office: 3123

Photo: Marc-Tizoc  González

Marc-Tizoc  González

Professor of Law

505-277-8662
gonzalezm@law.unm.edu
Office: 3411

Photo: Vinay Harpalani

Vinay Harpalani

Associate Professor of Law

505-277-5653
harpalani@law.unm.edu
Office: 2526

Photo: Steven K. Homer

Steven K. Homer

Director of the Legal Analysis & Communication Program
Associate Professor of Law

505-277-1002
homer@law.unm.edu
Office: 1115

Photo: John Min Kang

John Min Kang

Professor of Law

505-277-7776
kang@law.unm.edu
Office: 1125

Photo: Joshua Kastenberg

Joshua Kastenberg

Associate Professor of Law

  • Lee & Leon Karelitz Professor in Evidence and Procedure

505-277-5877
joshua.kastenberg@law.unm.edu
Office: 3214

Photo: April Land

April Land

Professor of Law

505-277-1006
land@law.unm.edu
Office: 2534

Photo: John P.  LaVelle

John P.  LaVelle

Professor of Law

  • Regents Lectureship

505-277-0951
lavelle@law.unm.edu
Office: 3234

Photo: Mary Leto Pareja

Mary Leto Pareja

Professor of Law

505-277-2268
mpareja@law.unm.edu
Office: 3120

Photo: Nathalie Martin

Nathalie Martin

Associate Dean for Faculty Development
Professor of Law

  • Frederick M. Hart Chair in Consumer and Clinical Law

505-277-2810
martin@law.unm.edu
Office: 3239

Photo: Serge Martinez

Serge Martinez

Associate Dean of Experiential Learning
Professor of Law

505-277-6556
serge.martinez@law.unm.edu
Office: 3409

Photo:  Jennifer Moore

Jennifer Moore

Professor of Law

  • Pamela B. Minzner Chair in Professionalism

505-277-5564
moore@law.unm.edu
Office: 3112

Photo: Aliza Organick

Aliza Organick

Professor of Law

505-277-4140
organick@law.unm.edu
Office: 3417

Photo: Gabe Pacyniak

Gabe Pacyniak

Associate Professor of Law

505-277-6559
pacyniak@law.unm.edu
Office: 3413

Photo: Sergio  Pareja

Sergio  Pareja

Dean
Professor of Law

505-277-4700
pareja@law.unm.edu
Office: 2505

Photo:  Lysette  Romero Cordova

Lysette  Romero Cordova

Assistant Professor of Law

505-277-5723
lysette.romero-cordova@law.unm.edu
Office: 1129

Photo: Joseph A. Schremmer

Joseph A. Schremmer

Assistant Professor of Law

  • Judge Leon Karelitz Oil & Gas Law Professor

505-277-5665
schremmer@law.unm.edu
Office: 2532

Photo: Laura Spitz

Laura Spitz

Professor of Law

505-277-1772
laura.spitz@law.unm.edu
Office: 3216

Photo: Sarah Steadman

Sarah Steadman

Associate Professor of Law

505-277-0301
steadman@law.unm.edu
Office: 3415

Photo: David Stout

David Stout

Senior Lecturer III

505-277-0080
stout@law.unm.edu
Office: 1127

Photo: Carol M. Suzuki

Carol M. Suzuki

Professor of Law

  • Dickason Professorship

505-277-1073
suzuki@law.unm.edu
Office: 2530

Photo: Clifford Villa

Clifford Villa

Professor of Law

505-277-5664
villa@law.unm.edu
Office: 3235

Photo: Sam Winder

Sam Winder

Assistant Professor of Law

505-277-5265
winder@law.unm.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Photo: Barbara Blumenfeld

Barbara Blumenfeld

Professor Emerita



Photo: Michael Browde

Michael Browde

Professor Emeritus

505-277-5326
browde@law.unm.edu
Office: 1117

Photo: Sherri L.  Burr

Sherri L.  Burr

Professor Emerita

  • Dickason Chair in Law EmeritaRegents Professor Emerita

505-277-5650
burr@law.unm.edu
Office: 3243

Photo: Robert J.  Desiderio

Robert J.  Desiderio

Professor Emeritus

505-277-0557
desiderio@law.unm.edu
Office: 3245

Photo:  James W.  Ellis

James W.  Ellis

Professor Emeritus

505-277-4830
ellis@law.unm.edu
Office: 3216

Photo: Denise Fort

Denise Fort

Research Professor
Professor Emerita



Photo: Christian G.  Fritz

Christian G.  Fritz

Professor Emeritus



Photo: Eileen Gauna

Eileen Gauna

Professor Emerita

505-277-0377
gauna@law.unm.edu
Office: Office: Emeriti Suite Rm. 3226

Photo: Frederick M.  Hart

Frederick M.  Hart

Professor Emeritus

505-277-4737
hart@law.unm.edu
Office: 3124

Photo: Scott Hughes

Scott Hughes

Professor Emeritus

505-277-3051
hughes@law.unm.edu
Office: 3251

Photo: Ruth L.  Kovnat

Ruth L.  Kovnat

Professor Emerita

505-277-4738
kovnat@law.unm.edu
Office: 3243

Photo: Alfred D.  Mathewson

Alfred D.  Mathewson

Professor Emeritus

  • Henry Weihofen Chair in Law

505-277-5820
mathewson@law.unm.edu
Office: 3246

Photo: Margaret E. Montoya

Margaret E. Montoya

Senior Adviser to Executive Vice President for UNM Health Sciences Center
Professor Emerita

  • On Leave



Photo: J. Michael Norwood

J. Michael Norwood

Professor Emeritus

505-277-0377
norwood@law.unm.edu
Office: Emeriti Suite Rm. 3226

Photo: Ted Occhialino

Ted Occhialino

Professor Emeritus

505-277-3017
occhialino@law.unm.edu
Office: 3122

Photo: Theodore Parnall

Theodore Parnall

Professor Emeritus



Photo: Elizabeth Rapaport

Elizabeth Rapaport

Professor Emerita



Photo: Leo M. Romero

Leo M. Romero

Professor Emeritus

505-277-8817
romero@law.unm.edu
Office: 3121

Photo: Robert Schwartz

Robert Schwartz

Professor Emeritus

505-277-3119
schwartz@law.unm.edu
Office: 3215

Photo: Gloria Valencia-Weber

Gloria Valencia-Weber

Professor Emerita

505-277-4101
valenciaweber@law.unm.edu
Office: 3253

Photo: Peter Winograd

Peter Winograd

Peter A. Winograd
Professor Emeritus

505-277-3948
winograd@law.unm.edu
Office: 3242

Photo: Christine Zuni Cruz

Christine Zuni Cruz

Professor Emerita

  • Regents Professor

505-277-1007
zunicruz@law.unm.edu
Office: 3241

Inactive Emeriti

  • Marsha Baum
  • Barbara Bergman
  • Charles T. Dumars
  • Willis H. Ellis
  • Myron Fink
  • Richard Gonzales
  • G. Emlen Hall
  • Michelle S.G. Hermann
  • Antoinette Sedillo Lopez
  • William MacPherson
  • Jose Martinez
  • Carol Parker
  • Sheryl Scheible Wolf