UNM School of Law Alumnus Recognized at the UNM Alumni Association Annual Awards Ceremony

March 8, 2024

Harold Lavender and President Stokes

The University of New Mexico Alumni Association award ceremony was held on February 28, 2024. Nine UNM alumni were recognized at the ceremony, one of whom was UNM School of Law alumnus Harold Lavender. Lavender was presented the Erna S. Fergusson Award to acknowledge his accomplishments, commitment, and distinguished service to UNM. School of Law alumna and UNM Alumni Association Board President Jaymie Roybal gave the opening remarks to the awards ceremony and presented the award to Lavender.

After graduating with his J.D. in 1975 and practicing law for a year Lavender then spent 34 years in Chicago as a member of the Chicago Board of Trade (CBOT), the world’s largest commodity exchange (now CME Group) working as a commodity trader and broker. He served two terms as a Director of the CBOT Board of Directors and two terms on the Executive Committee. He returned to New Mexico and the legal profession in 2010. He became Of Counsel at Modrall Sperling and two years later as Of Counsel at Montgomery and Andrews and practiced with Robert Singer at the New Mexico Law Group. Over his career, Lavender has been involved with several organizations including serving as Chairman of the Investment Committee of the New Mexico State Investment Council, President of the UNM Alumni Association Board of Directors, and on the UNM School of Law Alumni Board. Additionally, Lavender taught classes on finance at the UNM Anderson School of Business. He now works with CNM Ingenuity in business and finance development.

Other UNM Alumni Award recipients recognized at the ceremony were: Raven Chacon, James F. Zimmerman Award; Sally Marquez, Bernard S. Rodey Award; Raphael Martinez, Zia Award; Michelle Hernandez, Zia Award; Brian Levant, Lobo Award; Falisha Begay, Inspirational Young Alumnus Award; Maria Szasz, Faculty Teaching Award; and Thomas Resta, Research Award.